Peninsula School Feeding Association

Who We Are

The Peninsula School Feeding Association (PSFA) was established in 1958 when the government at the time discontinued the national school feeding programme.

Aware of the need for school feeding, the Rotary Club of Paarden Eiland (now the Rotary Club of Table Bay) called a public meeting, and the organisation was established on March 10, 1958.

PSFA is a registered non-profit organisation that addresses hunger in young learners and students attending primary, secondary and special needs schools as well as Orphaned & Vulnerable Children Centres (OVCs), Early Childhood Development Centres (ECDs) and Technical and Vocational Education and Training Colleges (TVETS) only in the Western Cape province of South Africa.

PSFA’s main aims are to reduce short term hunger, enhance children’s ability to learn through school feeding and increase school attendance.

PSFA has to date provided over two billion nutritious meals to hungry school children across the Western Province.

PSFA is governed by a voluntary management committee that oversees the strategic and policy framework of the organisation, whilst day to day operations are managed by a full time staff complement.

Through good governance over the years, PSFA has built and maintained an investment reserve that generates interest enough to cover all operating expenses.

This means that 100% of all donations are directed exclusively to the actual cost of school feeding.

PSFA has a Section 18A status, which makes all donations tax deductible.
Our NPO Registration Number is: 002-878.

Our Mission

To combat the prevalence of hunger in children attending schools and other educational institutions, through school feeding and other developmental initiatives.

Our Vision

To reduce hunger in school children.

Our Inspiration

"You can't teach a hungry child"

Our Staff Members

Petrina Pakoe Director petrina@psfa.org.za
Morne Goosen Financial Manager morne@psfa.org.za
Amelia Koeries Operations Manager amelia@psfa.org.za
Charles Grey Fundraising Manager charles@psfa.org.za
Tanith Hamman Logistics Manager fleet@psfa.org.za
Chantal Crook Donor Administrator chantal@psfa.org.za
Nicky Samuel Bookkeeper nicky@psfa.org.za
Leroy Fredericks Bookkeeper leroy@psfa.org.za
Michelle Solomans Warehouse Administrator michelle@psfa.org.za
Cheryl Manual Field Officer cheryl@psfa.org.za
Thandiswa Mtombeni Project Coordinator thandi@psfa.org.za
Rafiq Benjamin Warehouse Staff
Alen Roberts MOD Centres Coordinator alen@psfa.org.za
Alice Johnson General Assistant
Lubebelo Duda Site Supervisor
Monde Masiza Fleet Supervisor
Sharkeyrah Jaffer MOD's Administrator sharkeyrah@psfa.org.za
Viwe Bontsa Field Officer viwe@psfa.org.za

Our Voluntary General Committee Members

Name Position
Mr Brian Benatar Chairman
Mr Kurt Maart Vice Chairman
Mr William Fowler Honorary Treasurer
Mr David Galland Honorary Secretary
Ms Dalmari Steward Member
Mr Yongama Skweyiya Member
Mr Graham Stark Member
Ms Nomzamo Landingwe Member
Mr Shaheen Adams Member
Mr Gerhard van der Merwe Member
Mr Wilbur van Niekerk Member
Mr Ton Weber Life Member

Special People

Our donors and sponsors – you are at the heart of eliminating hunger at schools, leading on to each child’s education their own better future, and that of our nation. Thank you!

Our suppliers – your special rates for ingredients and kitchen equipment are invaluable to the cost effectiveness and success of our programmes. Thank you for the vital part you play.

Our volunteers – our programmes wouldn’t function without you! Thank you for your preparation, cooking, and serving, which spreads hope to our next generation, and nourishes the future of your community.

Website Sponsors

Contact Information

Phone: +27 (21) 447 6020
Email: info@psfa.org.za
Physical Address: 26 Purdey Road, Sheffield Business Park, Philippi, 7750
Postal Address: PO Box 154, Observatory 7935

Banking Details

Account Name: Peninsula School Feeding Association
Bank: Standard Bank of South Africa Limited
Account Number: 070894159
Account Type: Cheque Account
Branch Code: 020909
Branch Name: Thibault Square
Swift Code: SBZAZAJJ
Physical address: First Floor, Thibault Square Branch, Corner of Hans Strijdom Street and Long Street, Cape Town, 8001